Planning Committee


With over 9,000 in attendance and growing, the SHPE National Convention requires an enormous team of dedicated volunteer committee members contributing their time, experience, and energy. We are so grateful to these committee members for giving back to their SHPE Familia by volunteering to support the largest gathering of Hispanics in STEM in the country.

National Advisory Committee

Conference Champion

Mindy Sanchez

Local Convention Chair

Yuliana Porras

Local Convention Chair

Ismael Porras

Corporate Relations Chair

Yajaira De La Paz

Corporate Relations Committee Member

Emily Anne Vargas

Corporate Relations Committee Member

Mario Alvarenga

Presenter Host

Miurka Hidalgo

Academic Conference

Convention Readiness Chair

Andrea Lopez

Convention Readiness Committee Member

Cesar Martinez

Advisor Track Vice Chair

Melanie Suarez

Community College Faculty Chair

June Keller

Community College Track Vice Chair

Arash Shariatzadeh

Community College Track Member

Estefania Fernandez

Deans Round Table Vice Chair & Faculty Development Symposium Chair

Alex Castaneda

Graduate Track Chair

Alex Avendano

Graduate Track Vice Chair

Rosa Morales

Graduate Track Faculty Advisor

Dr. Jean Andino

Inclusion Track Chair

Will Davis

Undergraduate Track Chair

Karen Hernandez

Undergraduate Track Vice Chair

Alfredo Montoya

Corporate Tours Chair

Sylvia Galvez

Technology & Innovation Conference

Tech Talks Chair

Michael Hernandez

Tech Talks Vice Chair

Julio Ortiz

Design Competition Vicec chair

Oscar Ceron

Engineering Science Symposium Chair

Daniel Castaneda

Engineering Science Symposium Vice Chair

Leonardo Chamorro

Engineering Science Symposium Member

Cristian Gaedicke

Extreme Engineering Chair

Cesar Gonzalez

Extreme Engineering Vice Chair

Sam Attaguile

Innovation Challenge Chair

Aileen Tapia

Innovation Challenge Vice Chair

Dishaun Philips

Innovation Challenge Co-Vice Chair

Andrea Escobar

Cyber Security Challenge Chair

Daniela Delgaldo

Cyber Security Challenge Vice Chair

Mario Montoya

Professionals in STEM Conference

Professionals in STEM Conference Chair

Jimmy Galvez

Professionals in STEM Conference Vice Chair

Rosa Delgado

Entrepreneurship Chair

Francesca Escoto

Entrepreneurship Vice Chair

Edward Montenegro

SHPEtinas: Igniting Latinas in STEM Conference

SHPEtinas Conference Chair

Yamille Perez

SHPEtinas Conference Vice Chair

Zoraida Martinez

SHPEtinas Conference Vice Chair

Cristina Cantero

SHPEtinas Conference Advisor

Diana Ortega

SHPEtinas Conference Advisor

Heidy Arriola

SHPEtinas Conference Volunteer

Melanie Suarez

Pre-College Conference

Pre-College Conference Captain

Joe (Jose) Martinez

Pre-College Evaluations Lead

Renata Revelo-Alonso

SAILS High School Programming Chair

Denis Salinas

SAILS High School Programming Vice Chair

Nicole Ortega

SAILS High School Programming Committee Member

Andrew Alonso

Design Challenge Chair

Mathew Alonso

Design Challenge Vice Chair

Christian Vargas

Parent Program Committee Member

Francisco Garcia

Special Events


Signage Chair

Lenin Paulino

Signage Committee Vice Chair

Jeovanni Mendoza

Signage Committee Member

Rocio Rojas

Signage Committee Member

Juan Valentin

Special Events

Special Events Captain

Marjorie Blanco

Special Events Captain

Mariela Robledo

Special Events Lead

Deyzi Ixtabalan

Special Events

Mayra Lua

STAR Awards

STAR Awards Special Events Lead

Mariela Resendez

Star Awards Chair

Diana Gomez

STAR Awards Members

Beatriz Garcia

STAR Awards Members

Linda Renteria

STAR Awards Members

Valerie Valenzuela

STAR Awards Members

Francis Valencheck

Other Committee Members

Academic Conference Special Events Lead

Catalina Buitrago

Graduate Conference Special Events Lead (Hospitality Suite)

Maritza Sanchez

Pre-College Special Events

Wendy Correa De Reiter

Professional Special Events Lead

Belix Ortiz

Student/Prof Networking

William Gonzalez

Entertainment Lead

Carlos Blanco

Surveys Chair

Jimmy Gomez

Surveys Vice Chair

Joe Gonzalez

Security Chair

Jesse Martinez

Security Onsite Support

Sarah Martinez

Volunteer Chair

Alex Saint-Blancard

Volunteer Vice Chair

Meliza Castellon