SHPE 2022 National Convention

  • Charlotte Convention Center
  • Charlotte, North Carolina

2022 STAR Awards

SHPE will proudly recognize its 2022 SHPE Technical Achievement and Recognition (STAR) Award recipients during the SHPE 2022 National Convention.

The prestigious awards honor outstanding professionals for their dedication, commitment, and selfless efforts to advance Hispanics in STEM careers. STAR Awards also recognize a company and government agency for demonstrating significant, measurable, and visible assistance to further SHPE’s programs.

2022 STAR Awards Brochure

Nominate Now >

The STAR Awards nominations deadline is July 15, 2022!

Nomination Information

Do you have questions about the nomination process? We have answers! We held an open information session to review the process and answer many of the frequently (and not so frequently) asked questions.

If your question isn't covered, please email

Download the presentation slides >

2021 STAR Award Programs

STAR Awards Celebration >

Excellence in STEM Breakfast >

2021 STAR Award Winners

Company of the Year
Government Agency of the Year
Hispanic ERG of the Year - Dow

Jaime Oaxaca Award

Ernesto "Ernie" Felix
Intel Corporation

Rodrigo Garcia Founder's Award

Rodrigo T. Garcia
SHPE Founder

Dr. Ellen Ochoa Award

Melanie L. Weber
The Boeing Company

Advisor of the Year

Dr. Lizzie Santiago
West Virginia University

Community Service Award

Frances J. Gonzalez
Lockheed Martin Corporation

Corporate Achievement Award

Lesly Caridad VanDen Heuvel
Kimberly Clark

Diversity Award

Esther Ledesma Pumarol

Educator of the Year - Higher Education

Christopher Hernandez, Ph.D.
Cornell University

Hispanic in Technology Award - Government

Capt. Cristian Hernández Rivera
Air Force Research Laboratory

Innovator Award

Dr. Kenneth Miguel Armijo
Sandia National Laboratories

Manager of the Year

Leopoldo Hernandez Jr.
Bechtel Corporation

Professional Role Model Award

Jasmin Vanessa Guerrero
Raytheon Technologies

Promising Engineer Award

Leilani C. Rebolledo
Chevron Corporation

Renaissance Engineer Award

Fernando Rosario

SHPE Star of Today

Dr. Carlos A. Escobar
General Motors

SHPE Star of Tomorrow

Monica Ochoa
The Boeing Company

Student Role Model Award - Graduate

Adrian Dávila
Virginia Tech

Student Role Model Award - Undergraduate

Andrea Lastra
University of Houston

Young Investigator Award

Julibeth Martinez De la Hoz
Dow, Inc.